June 25, 2015

Summer 2015 preview

Here's Tenka Seiha.

UPDATE: I got half-way down the page before I ran into anything I found even slightly interesting. That was Shimoseka, the one about revolutionary guerillas fighting against prudes. And ran into a very bad sign: the official web site no longer has a picture of the main girl naked.

And after finishing his list, there wasn't anything I was interested in. Not even the new DB rehash.

He didn't list Bikini Warriors, though. But that's only a 5-minute show, and I'm not sure it's even running the whole season since it's pretty much a 5-minute advertisement for ecchi figurines. (Reportedly they're all cast-offs.) I imagine I'll want to watch it, but it won't be absorbing.

So I went back and reviewed the latest version of Neregate's picture. There are several shows which will probably be fodder for plundering, but nothing I'm actually interested in watching. (Except Bikini Warriors, maybe, for a couple of episodes.)

Sheesh. What a disaster.

Posted by: Steven Den Beste in General Anime at 02:11 PM | Comments (8) | Add Comment
Post contains 164 words, total size 1 kb.

1 Maybe they can hire Avatar for Ushio & Tora again.

Posted by: Pete Zaitcev at June 25, 2015 08:38 PM (RqRa5)

2 I do so love the "so-edgy-my-razor-bleeds-when-I-shave" style of previewing.  Nothing is ever good, nothing could ever possibly be good... blah blah blah.

I've learned to use these previews to find out when a show is airing.  That's usually accurate.

Posted by: Wonderduck at June 25, 2015 09:07 PM (jGQR+)

3 Ushio & Tora!!!!!
 

Posted by: Pixy Misa at June 25, 2015 09:22 PM (PiXy!)

4 Funny enough, at A-Kon, I ran into the person who has my old job. Talked shop for a couple minutes, even.

I don't think they'd pay my consulting fees now, though. $150 an hour...

Posted by: Avatar_exADV at June 25, 2015 11:22 PM (aWC9A)

5 I'm going to check out Classroom*Crisis most of all. I mean, who doesn't love cute engineers (well, cute technicians too)? SnowRed and JitsuWata look promising too, if only for the humor. I'll have a look at the new Cinderella Girls too, although not having great hopes.

Posted by: Pete Zaitcev at June 26, 2015 08:05 AM (RqRa5)

6

Wonderduck, I agree that Aroduc is too snarky by half. To read his stuff he hates it all, which makes you wonder why he watches it, let alone blogging about it.

I think the answer is that it's his brand these days. I'm not sure I believe he is actually this negative. But it's been a long time since I remember him having anything good to say about a show.

And frankly, if any season deserved a theater-wide snark attack, this one is it IMHO.

I hope RandomC comes out with its preview soon. They're usually much more balanced, and overall tend to be positive because they let the most enthusiastic member of the team write about each show. Since tastes vary, there's usually someone who looks forward to pretty much anything.

Posted by: Steven Den Beste at June 26, 2015 03:28 PM (+rSRq)

7 I've just resigned myself to getting no utility out of Aroduc's previews. Sometimes I like a show and he hated the sound of it. Sometimes I don't like a show and he hated the sound of it...

There's a couple shows I'll try out. That said, I've never yet had a season where there was nothing good. On the gripping hand, I have a mile-wide strike zone; will probably watch both Ushio & Tora and Non Non Biyori...

Posted by: Avatar_exADV at June 26, 2015 08:30 PM (pWQz4)

8 ...if any season deserved a theater-wide snark attack, this one is it... Sheesh. What a disaster.

I see four or five shows that I'm at least interested enough in to watch a few episodes.  That's actually more than this season, where I only paid attention to three, and dropped one of them (ViVid), probably until the BDs.

The other two were Fate Stay/Night UBW, part II... I'd invested all that time in the first half, I wasn't gonna let the second go unwatched, and it was worth it...  and Hibike! Euphonium, which  will be on the short list of Best Of The Year, and the best thing KyoAni has done in a long, long time.

If Gakkou Gurashi, Classroom Crisis, Charlotte, and Monster Musume can pull their weight, this'll be a GOOD season. I expect two or three of them to pan out.  I don't really have any hopes for Monster Musume, as I've got a serious love/hate relationship with the manga, but it could surprise me.

Posted by: Wonderduck at June 27, 2015 03:22 PM (jGQR+)

Hide Comments | Add Comment

Enclose all spoilers in spoiler tags:
      [spoiler]your spoiler here[/spoiler]
Spoilers which are not properly tagged will be ruthlessly deleted on sight.
Also, I hate unsolicited suggestions and advice. (Even when you think you're being funny.)

At Chizumatic, we take pride in being incomplete, incorrect, inconsistent, and unfair. We do all of them deliberately.

How to put links in your comment




What colour is a green orange?




13kb generated in CPU 0.01, elapsed 0.013 seconds.
22 queries taking 0.0073 seconds, 27 records returned.
Powered by Minx 1.1.6c-pink.